Holy crap

Yeah, I do suck at updating this thing.  I started it as a way to distract myself at work, and all of a sudden things start pouring in for me to do.  Lame.  Anyway, this is going to be a mixed bag of random crap, so buckle up people.

Cliff from Capewood Commons and Charlie from Hawk to the Hall – you can both expect to receive some lonnnnnnnnnnng overdue packages in the mail in the next few days.  With the holidays and lots going on at the school I work at, my time has been a little thin lately.  Hopefully the size of the packages makes up for the wait. 

I’ve added a handful of new Pettittes to the collection via Checkoutmycards.com – nothing too earth-shattering; a bunch of base, a couple refractors and a duel-bat card with Roger Clemens.  If I wasn’t such a whore to get my hands on all g/u Pettitte stuff, I may question why the need was felt to issue a bat card of two pitchers.  However, I am shameless, and I probably paid too much for the dumb thing to boot.  Oh well, I’ll just say I’m supporting the economy.  Speaking of Pettitte, sounds like he declined the Yankees’ one-year, $10 mil offer.  While I’m happy with the additions the Yankees have made this off-season, I’m going to be very sad if he leaves for a different team.  And I’m not saying that for the sake of saying it; my heart will sink to see him in a different uniform.  I was okay with him in Houston, but I just can’t see him in a Ranger or Braves uniform (sorry Dayf).  The Dodgers is the only team I could make peace with… hopefully it doesn’t have to come to that.

If anyone out there collects the Tigers, Blue Jays, Diamondbacks or Pirates, look me up.  I thought I had a Tigers collector lined up, but I never heard back from him so those are waiting to be claimed again.  Same goes for the Pirates – I have an auto, g/u, and a seat card to be included in trade for one lucky collector.

And because Pettitte, Jeter, Posada and Rivera are getting up there in years, and I won’t be able to collect them forever (well, I probably will with Jeter – God knows Upper Deck will give him the Mickey Mantle treatment long after he’s retired), I am debating adding a new player to my collection.  I already casually collect Joe Mauer and Justin Morneau, and even more casually Josh Hamilton.  The leading candidates for me to collect are Lance Berkman, Adam Dunn, Joey Votto, Dionner Navarro, Eric Chavez, and Dan Haren, with Berkman and Dunn in the lead.  There is no reason or logic as to why I like these guys, I just do.  Thoughts?  The problem with this is when I was cleaning out my collection, I got rid of all of these players, except for Dan Haren (his A’s cards did get shipped to a very generous Rickey Henderson fan) – let’s hear it for foresight, huh?  So who knows how this will play out.

Two cards I’m looking for, and hoping someone can help out with: the 91 Upper Deck Baseball Michael Jordan and the 08 Goudey Sport Royalty Michael Jordan.  Actually, I’m trying to find the Tiger Woods Sports Royalty too, but I hear that one goes for a pretty fair amount.

Told you this was all over the place today.

Oh yeah, I got a new Chad Greenway yesterday too – his 06 Bowman Chrome Refractor.  So yeah, that’s pretty sweet.

Ah hell, I gotta get to work.  See you in another week, probably.

2 Responses to “Holy crap”

  1. Sooz (A Cardboard Problem) Says:

    I keep thinking about adding a new guy because Jeter is my main man with kouzmanoff in second. However, I can’t seem to like a player enough to want to spend lots of money on their cards.

    Chase Utley and Cole Hamels are candidates. But Hamels is sorta douchy and Utley is very reserved.

    I need a player that plays well and has seemingly a great personality.

  2. ryanmemorabilia Says:

    I am new at the blog thing too. ryanmemorabilia.wordpress.com

    I am always looking for cards, you can view my trade page. I will see if I have anything that may fit into your collection.

    Good Luck with you blog.

Leave a Reply

