Dinged Corners wants to know…

1-If I didn’t collect baseball cards, I’d collect _________.

McFarlane figures.  Even when I wasn’t collecting cards, I would still buy any Yankee or Vikings I came across, along with exceptions like Joe Mauer, Chad Pennington, and Kevin Garnett.

 

 

2-My baseball heroes include one you probably wouldn’t know from my blog or comments, and that person is __________.

Mark McGwire.  He was my childhood hero growing up, and I still look back at collecting his cards very fondly.  I was a ten year old pack searcher, looking through the front of 1988 Score for McGwire’s name, and always got to go to an A’s game when Oakland came to the Cities.  Despite his unceremonious demise a few years ago, he is still my all-time favorite player, and a very nice guy to boot.

 

3-Every New Years I resolve to __________ my collection.

Ummm, I didn’t really start collecting again until this past May, so I’ll have to answer “Ignore.”

4-If I could spend a day with one person from baseball history, it would be ________.

Babe Ruth, because we share a birthday and I bet he’d get me really drunk if we went out to celebrate it.

ROUND TWO:

1-What is your favorite kind of dog?

Scottish Terrier, like President Bush’s.  I grew up with one, Kirby (after Kirby Puckett) and when he died, we got Henry (after Henry Blake (M*A*S*H)) a year later.

2-Who is your favorite baseball player?

Andy Pettitte, far and away.  And like I said earlier, I still have a soft spot for Mark McGwire, in addition to Derek Jeter and Mariano Rivera.

3-What is your favorite team?

The hated Yankees, of course.

4-What is your favorite baseball movie?

Major League.  I don’t care if Charlie Sheen does believe 9/11 was an inside job, I’ll always be a fan after seeing him as Mitch Vaughn.

5-What is your favorite baseball book?

Probably “The Life You Imagine” by Derek Jeter.  I want to pick up the late Bobby Murcer’s too.

6-What is your favorite card?

I’m too dumb to post pictures, but it’s the Yankee Stadium Legacy Memorabilia jersey card of Andy Pettitte that Mario sent me from Wax Heaven.  As a Yankees fan, it’s great to get a relic card of your favorite player that commemorates the final year of your favorite team’s iconic stadium.  After typing all that, it may have been easier to just learn how to post a picture.

Leave a Reply

